Users are alternate logins to your ExaVault account. When you create user accounts, you grant other people access to the contents of your account. Users can log in using web browser or Desktop FTP clients.
In order to provide access to your account, you can either create a share or create users. Generally speaking, you'll want to create a user:
Users may be full access, or may be restricted to:
To access the users page:
1. Log in to ExaVault file manage as the main account user or as an admin user.
2. Click the Users link in the menu bar.
On the users page, you will see an overview of all of the user accounts that you have created.
To add a user:
1. Log in as the main account user and click on the Users tab.
2. Click on the ADD NEW USER button near the top of the screen.
3. Fill in the username, nickname, email address, password, and other details.
4. Click the PERMISSIONS tab if you need to set a home folder or assign specific permissions to the user. Complete any permissions changes.
5. Click the SAVE CHANGES button.
If you have reached the maximum number of users for your plan, you will be unable to add additional users unless you upgrade your plan.
The user will be added to the users view and will be able to log in immediately.
When you add a user, you will see a window where you may enter the following details:
The username that they will use to login
A meaningful name for you to help you remember who uses this login
The email address for this user (so you can contact them)
Send Welcome Email
Enabling this option will send an email message to your new user, informing them that their account has been set up and including the address to log into the server. The welcome letter will include a link for the user to set up a password. If you disable permission to change the password, you will need to provide the password to your user directly.
The password for this user
Date of expiration for this user. The user cannot log in to the account starting on the expiration date.
The actions that the user is allowed to do on your account
The directory that the user will automatically log into when they connect. Users restricted to a home folder will have no access to any files outside of that folder.
Lock this user
Enabling this option you will lock the user in case if you don't want to give him access to files, but don't want to delete it.
Enabling this option will let this user see introductory tips on how to use the account.
The user expiration feature is not available in some plans. To use this feature, you will need to upgrade your account plan.
Usernames can be just about anything you like, but be aware of these restrictions:
On the permissions tab of the user setup screen, you have the option to determine whether the user account is an admin user or a normal user. For normal users, you can restrict the user to specific activities as well as restrict the user to an assigned home directory.
For a normal user, you also have the option to toggle the following permissions ON and OFF:
Upload files and folders
The user will be able to upload files and create directories.
Download files and folders
The user will be able to download files.
Delete files and folders
The user will be able to delete files and folders from the server.
Undelete files and folders
The user will be able to access the trash can to review and/or restore any deleted items from the past 14 days.
Modify(new folder, rename, move, copy)
The user will be able to rename files and folders, move or copy files and folders, and create new folders.
See files and folders
When enabled, this user will be able to see files and folders. If disabled, the user will log in and see an empty screen, even if files and folders are present.
The user will be able to set up email notifications to be sent to the email address linked to the user account.
Share and send files
The user will be able to use share tools for sending files/folders, setting up shared folders, and creating receive folders.
Change their own password
The user will be able to change their personal password on the My Account page.
View form data
This field allows the user to see the custom form data associated with a receive folder.
Delete form data
The user can delete the custom form data associated with a receive folder.
The home folder is the “base” directory for a user who is not an admin. When a user logs in, the user will be taken directly to that folder and will not see any files or folders outside of the home folder.
To change a user's home directory:
1. Click the PERMISSIONS tab, either while you are adding a new user or while editing an existing user.
2. Click the change link under the What is this user's home folder? question.
3. Click the folder that you want to set as the user's home folder. You can also create folders by clicking the NEW FOLDER button.
4. Click the OK button to save the home folder setting.
A user only has access to the home folder you specify, as well as any folders underneath that folder. You can use this to your advantage. Consider the following example:
In this case, the clients user will have access to both Fred & Barney's folders. However, Fred & Barney will only be able to access their own folders and will not be able to access each other's folders (or any folders for other clients).
Editing a user is very similar to adding a user. When you click the Edit button, the user entry opens for editing.
To edit a user:
1. Click on the Edit User button in the drop-down menu located next to the user entry you want to edit.
2. Edit the user's details.
3. Click the SAVE CHANGES button to save your changes.
To delete a user:
1. Click on the Delete User button in the drop-down menu located next to the user entry you want to delete.
2. Click the DELETE button to confirm deletion.
Locking a user will disable that user's access to all services while still allowing you to reserve the username. Locked users will receive an error when attempting to log in to the system.
To lock a user:
To re-activate a locked user:
As an admin, if you wish to test that a particular user account has the correct rights, you can click the Log in as user link below that user's username. You will be logged out of the file manager and automatically logged in as that user.
Has your users' list gotten too long? You can use the search feature to quickly locate specific users. At the top of the screen, you'll see a Search users… box. To search, type the text you want to find in that box and then press Enter. When you press Enter, the screen will display all of the matching users. Matching users will have the search text in or more of the following fields:
To return to the normal list of users, click the clear results link above the search results.
When adding a new user, you might get the following message: “This username has already been taken by another account”
This message means that username was already taken by another account in our system. All usernames must be unique across all accounts in our system. So if another client took username 'sally', you can't create user 'sally'.
It works that way because FTP usernames are global – when you connect and say “my username is 'sally'”, our servers don't know whether you want 'sally' connected with your account or the 'sally' connected with somebody else's account.
One thing you can do when creating names is to use email addresses as usernames. The chances that another company is working with users who have the same email address as your users is very small. Another option when creating usernames is to use some sort of standard prefix, so 'sally' is created as user 'mycompany_sally'.
Using Your Account
Using FTP Software
Feedback and Help
Don't see the answer you need? Drop us a note, and our support team will email you back.Send Email