Restoring Deleted Files

Restoring file or folder.

When files and folders are deleted from your account, they will be moved to the trash can and no longer available to view or download at the original location. The files and folders remain in the trash can for two week (14 days) before the system permanently removes the items from the server disk.

To view the trash can:

1. Log in as an admin user.

2. Click on the Trash Can button on the main toolbar.

3. Each item in the trash can includes the following data:

  • The original file path.
  • The size of the file(s) or folder(s).
  • If the item is a folder, the number of files contained.
  • Date when the file or folder will be permanently removed from the server by ExaVault.

Undelete Files and Folders

Restoring file(s) and folder(s).

If an item was unintentionally deleted in the last two weeks, use the trash can to review all deletes and restore specific files and folders.

1. Click on the Trash Can button on the main toolbar.

2. Select the checkbox for each item to undelete.

  • Click on a folder to review files and folders contained.
  • Click the top checkbox to select all items in the trash can.

3. Click the UNDELETE SELECTED button.

4. Use the restore window to select the folder location where the file(s) or folder(s) will be restored after the undelete and click Ok.

5. On the Action Report, click Confirm.

The file will now be available at the folder location selected. All items that are undeleted from the trash can will be captured in the Sessions Log and labeled as type “Restore”.

Permanently Removing Files and Folders

This is an optional feature for deletes. If no action is taken, items will permanently removed from the trash can and server after 14 days.

Restoring file or folder.

If files or folders need to be permanently removed from the server prior to the automatic process that runs two weeks after an item is deleted, use the manually delete option from the trash can.

1. Click on the Trash Can button on the main toolbar.

2. Select the checkbox for each item to permanently delete.

  • Click on a folder to review files and folders contained.
  • Click the top checkbox to select all items in the trash can.

3. Click the DELETE PERMANENTLY button at the top.

4.Click CONFIRM to permanently remove items selected.

Any backup of the files and folders selected will be removed from our disaster recovery server within 24 hours after manually using the permanent delete feature.

Support Library

Still Have Questions?

Email Us

Don't see the answer you need? Drop us a note, and our support team will email you back.

Send Email
Schedule a 1:1

Schedule a 1:1 screen-share to get all your questions answered by our support team.

Book a 1:1
© 2021 ExaVault. All Rights Reserved. ExaVault is a registered trademark of ExaVault, Inc.