User Security Settings
Users may be created with varying levels of security:
|Admin||Users with a role of 'Admin' have the same rights as the master user of the account. Admin users also have full add/delete rights to all folders. Admin users cannot be restricted to a home folder|
|User||Normal Users may be limited in ways that admin users cannot, such as being restricted to a home folder. Normal users may not view activity logs, user accounts or rebranding options.|
User Home Directory
Changing the home directory is one of the most useful security features of a user. Home directories may only be set for normal users.
Setting the home directory for a user means that when that user logs in, they are automatically placed into a specific folder of your account. This means the user will have no access to any files outside of that folder.
Setting the User Home Directory
- In the user setup window, click the “change location” link.
- In the folder tree pop-up, select the folder that you want to use for the user's home directory.
- If you need to create a folder, click the Create Folder button.
Advanced Usage: Nested Sub-Directories
A user only has access to the home folder you specify, as well as any folders underneath that folder. You can use this to your advantage. Consider the following example:
In this case, the
'clients' user will have access to both Fred & Barney's folders.
However, Fred & Barney will only be able to access their own folders and
will not be able to access each other's folders (or any folders for other clients).
Some Final Notes About Home Directories
- You may create multiple users with the same home directory.
- When a user is deleted, it does not delete the data in the user's home directory, so you may safely add or change users without affecting data on the server.
- You cannot remove a folder in File Manager if that folder is (or contains) the home directory for a user
Normal users may have permissions set to determine what file actions your user may do on your FTP server. These permissions are set in the User Edit window. Granting permissions is as simple as turning permissions ON or OFF:
Note: To customize User permissions, set the role to “custom”
|Share and send Files||The user will be able to use the Send Files feature and create shared folders within their home folder.|
|Upload files and folders||The user will be able to upload files.|
|Download files and folders||The user will be able to download files.|
|Delete files and folders||The user will be able to delete files on the server.|
|Modify (new folder, rename, move, copy)||The user will be able to rename, copy or move files and folders and create new folders.|
|Setup Notifications||The user will be able to set up notifications to be sent to the email address linked to their user account.|
|See files and folders||The user will be able to see the files that are loaded onto the server.
Note that they will only be able to see files and folders in their home folder
|Change Password||The user will be able to change their password on the Account page.|
Disabling the 'See files and folders' permission is useful when you setup an upload-only User. In that case, the User would only be able to upload files – and nothing else.
Locking a User
Selecting the Lock User checkbox will prevent the User from accessing your account in any way (FTP, SFTP or SWFT). This allows you to create logins for people who only need to login periodically.
Was this helpful?