Shared Folders

Shared Folders

Shared folders are used to share files with others who do not have accounts. It's a collaborative place where you can …well, share stuff. Shared folders can be download-only, or upload+download.

They're best used if you need to share an ongoing set of files with somebody, or you want to have a collaborative space where you can both upload and download files. If you just need to get one or two files to somebody on a one-time basis, we recommend you look at our send files feature.

Sharing Folders

Sharing Folders in File Manager

Show Me
Creating and managing shared folders with SWFT

To create a shared folder from the file manager, click the share button to the right of the folder you want to share. To see the public link for the shared folder, click the shared button.

Using the Sharing Page

Show Me
Creating and managing shared folders with SWFT

You can also share a folder from the sharing page. To do this:

  1. Click the Sharing button in the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE tab.
  3. Click the BROWSE FILE MANAGER button to select the folder that you want to share.
  4. Choose how you will share your folder's location. You can email people directly, create a link that you'll share in another way, or embed your folder within your own web page.
  5. Choose who is notified when recipients access your share. You can set the folder to notify several people, just yourself, or no one at all.
  6. Set the Advanced Options, as appropriate.
  7. Click the CONFIRM SHARE button to create the share.
  • You cannot share a folder that is already shared.
  • You cannot share your home folder.

Changing Settings For A Shared Folder

You can access the settings for a shared folder from the files area, or from the SHARE ACTIVITY tab on the sharing page.

To access a shared folder's settings from the files area:

  1. Locate your folder in the files area.
  2. Click on the share button and go to Settings or choose Edit Share from the drop-down menu.

To access a shared folder's settings in SHARE ACTIVITY:

  1. Click the Activity button in the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Locate your shared folder in the list and click on it.
  4. In the pop-up that is displayed, stay on the Settings tab.

Disabling a Shared Folder

When you no longer want your shared folder available for others to access the files, you can deactivate the shared folder.

To disable a shared folder:

  1. Click the Activity button in the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Locate your shared folder in the list and click on the drop-down arrow on the right.
  4. Select Stop Sharing from the menu that is displayed.

Working With Existing Shared Folders

Show Me
Sharing History
The SHARE ACTIVITY let you interact with your shared folders in several ways. You can invite new recipients to your share, view the shared folder, change the settings, and even disable access to the shared folder.

  1. Click the Activity button in the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Locate the entry for your shared folder in history.
  4. Click on the drop-down arrow to the right of your sent files entry to display the menu of options:
    • Settings will allow you to make changes to the shared folder settings, such as password and expiration.
    • Invite lets you send an invitation to the shared folder.
    • Preview will display the same page that your recipients see when they access the share.
    • Stop Sharing will disable access to the shared folder completely.

Shared Folder Settings

There are many settings for controlling the behavior of your shared folder. These can be configured when the folder is created. They can be edited later by viewing the folder's sharing settings.

Custom Email Message

If you choose to invite others to your shared folder by sending an email from ExaVault, you have the option to include a custom message. By default, the email message will read “A folder has been shared with you”.

To change the message sent in the invitation to the shared folder:

  1. Check the box next to Include Custom Message? option.
  2. Type your desired message in the message window that appears.

Delivery Receipts

You can configure a shared folder to send an email notification to you (or someone else you designate) whenever a recipient accesses your share for the first time. The options are:

  • Send a delivery receipt to me. - This will send a message the to user who originally shared the folder.
  • Let me choose who gets delivery receipts. - Whatever addresses you enter will be notified when a new recipient accesses the share.
  • Don't send delivery receipts to anyone, including me. - No delivery notice will be sent.

Require Email to Access

If you would prefer to make your share public rather than invite specific recipients to the share, you may want to collect the email of each person who accesses the share. If you did not create invitations when you configured your shared folder, you'll have a setting Require Email to Access which controls this option.

To enable this option for a new shared folder:

  1. When you are setting up your share, select either the Give me a link that I can copy and paste into an email or send via instant message. or I want to embed this shared folder as a widget on my website.
  2. Check the box next to Require recipients to enter their email address.
  3. Fill out the rest of the options as needed and complete your share.

To change this setting for an existing shared folder:

  1. Locate the folder in the files area or in the SHARE ACTIVITY page.
  2. Right-click on the entry and choose Settings from the menu.
  3. Check the box next to Require Email to Access.
  4. Click the SAVE CHANGES to save your changes.

The option to require an email address to access the shared folder will only appear if you choose the link or embed option when creating your share.

Expiration Date

If you set an expiration date for your folder, then it will not be available after the date you select. People who try to access the folder after the expiration date will receive a message that it is no longer available.

To set the expiration date on a new shared folder:

  1. At the bottom of the page where you are setting everything up, click the Show Advanced Options link.
  2. Choose the expiration date from the pop-up calendar.

To change the expiration date on an existing shared folder:

  1. Locate the folder in the files area or in the SHARE ACTIVITY page.
  2. Right-click on the entry and choose Settings from the menu.
  3. Find the Expiration field at the bottom of the pop-up window. Use the calendar to select the expiration date for the share.
  4. Click the SAVE CHANGES to save your changes.

Require a Password

If you are sharing your folder through a link or embedded in your own website, you may want to enable the Require Password to Access setting. When this setting is turned ON, users will be prompted for their password before they are allowed to access any files.

To set the password for a new shared folder:

  1. At the bottom of the page where you are setting everything up, click the Show Advanced Options link.
  2. Type your password in the password field.

To change the password for an existing shared folder:

  1. Locate the folder in the files area or in the SHARE ACTIVITY page.
  2. Right-click on the entry and choose Settings from the menu.
  3. Type a new password into the password field, or make it blank to remove the password.
  4. Click the SAVE CHANGES to save your changes.

What Others Can Do

You can change what visitors to your shared folder can do. The options are:

  • download only
  • download & upload
  • download, upload, modify & delete

To change the setting on a new shared folder:

  1. At the bottom of the page where you are setting everything up, click the Show Advanced Options link.
  2. Choose the desired option from the dropdown to the right of Allow others to do the following.

To change the setting for an existing shared folder:

  1. Locate the folder in the files area or in the SHARE ACTIVITY page.
  2. Right-click on the entry and choose Settings from the menu.
  3. Choose the desired option from the dropdown to the right of Allow others to ….
  4. Click the SAVE CHANGES to save your changes.

Did you find an issue with this article? Let us know!

account/05-file-sharing/02-shared-folders.txt · Last modified 2019/08/03 23:17 (external edit)