Send Files

Send Files

Our send files feature lets you send off files to others just like you'd do with email. But unlike email, you're not limited to the size and type of attachments – you can easily send multi-gigabyte files.

The send files feature is great if you need to quickly get one or more files to somebody. If you need to create a shared workspace, we recommend setting up a shared folder. And if you need to get files from someone, try creating a receive folder.

Show Me
Creating links to files and folders with SWFT

Sending Files

  1. Click the Sharing button on the main toolbar.
  2. Use the ADD FILES / ADD FOLDERS or BROWSE FILE MANAGER buttons to select the files to send.
    • To upload from your computer, click the ADD FILES or ADD FOLDERS button and select the files or folders that you want to send.
    • To send a file that is already in your account, click the BROWSE FILE MANAGER button and select from the pop-up window.
  3. Choose how you want to let your recipients know about the files. You can send an email with a link to specific recipients, or you can generate a link that you can share in another way.
  4. You can customize the email message if you are emailing invitations to your sent files.
  5. Choose your delivery notification options. You can tell the system to email a group of people, just you, or no one at all when someone accesses your files.
  6. Set your advanced options as needed.
  7. Click the CONFIRM SEND button to send the files.

A separate email with a unique link to the file(s)/folder(s) you have selected will be sent to each of the email addresses that you entered. By default, recipients will have fourteen (14) days to download their items. When your sent files link expires, recipients will no longer be able to access the files.

Sent Files Settings

There are several settings that change the behavior of your sent files. You can set them when you first send your files or after you've sent the files.

Delivery Receipts

You can configure each set of files you send to deliver an email notification to you (or someone else you designate), which will include the when a recipient has accessed the files. The options are:

  • Send a delivery receipt to me when these files are received. - Will send a message the to user who originally sent the files.
  • Let me choose who gets a delivery receipt. - Whatever addresses you enter will be notified when the files are accessed.
  • Don't send any delivery receipts to anyone, including me. - No delivery notice will be sent.

Require Email to Access

If you would prefer to make your files public rather than invite specific recipients to download, you may want to collect the email of each person who accesses the files. If you did not create invitations when you sent your files, you'll have a setting Require recipients to enter their email address before accessing these files which controls this.

To enable this option while you are sending files:

  1. When you are sending the files, select the Give me a link that I can copy and paste into an email or send via instant message. option.
  2. Check the box next to Require recipients to enter their email address.
  3. Fill out the rest of the options as needed and complete your send.

To change this setting for an existing set of sent files:

  1. Locate the entry in the SHARE ACTIVITY page.
  2. Click on the entry to open the settings.
  3. Check the box next to Require Email to Access.
  4. Click the SAVE CHANGES button to save changes.

The option to require an email address to access the shared folder will only appear if you choose the "link" option when sending your files.

Expiration Date

By default, sent files will have an expiration date of 14 days after you send them. Sent files must have an expiration date, which can not be more than 60 days from the date you sent the files. People who try to access the files after the expiration date will receive a message that they are no longer available.

To change the expiration date on a new sent file:

  1. At the bottom of the page where you are setting everything up, click the Show Advanced Options link.
  2. Click on the calendar icon directly to the right of the current expiration date.
  3. Choose the expiration date from the pop-up calendar.

To change the expiration date on an existing sent files entry:

  1. Click the Activity button on the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Click on the entry to open the settings.
  4. Click on the date of the current expiration date.
  5. Choose a new expiration from the calendar pop-up.
  6. Click the SAVE CHANGES button to save your changes.

Require a Password

If you are sharing your sent files through a link, you may also want to enable the Require a Password to Access setting. When this setting is checked on, users will be prompted for the password before they are allowed to access the files.

To set the password for a new set of sent files:

  1. At the bottom of the page where you are setting everything up, click the Show Advanced Options link.
  2. Type your password in the password field.

To change the password for an existing set of sent files:

  1. Click the Activity button on the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Click on the entry to open it.
  4. Check the box next to Require Password to Access.
  5. Type a new password into the password field, or make it blank to remove the password.
  6. Click the SAVE CHANGES to save your changes.

Changing Settings for Sent Files

You can access the settings for a set of sent files from the share history tab on the Activity page.

  1. Click the Activity button on the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Click on the entry to open it.
  4. In the pop-up window that is displayed, change the desired settings.

Disabling Access to Sent Files

If you need to remove access to sent files before the expiration date, you can stop sharing the sent files. If people attempt to access the files after you've disabled them, they'll receive a message that the files are no longer available.

To disable sent files that have been sent:

  1. Click the Activity button on the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Click on the entry to open it.
  4. Click the DEACTIVATE SHARE button.
  5. Click the YES button to confirm that wish to disable access to the files.

Viewing, Forwarding, and Deleting Sent Files

Show Me
Sharing History

The SHARE ACTIVITY lets you interact with your sent files in several ways. You can forward the files to new recipients, view the files that were sent, change settings for your sent files, and even disable access to the sent files.

  1. Click the Activity button on the main toolbar.
  2. Click the SHARE ACTIVITY tab.
  3. Locate the entry for your sent files in the activity.
  4. Click on the drop-down arrow to the right of your sent files entry to display the menu of options:
    • Settings will allow you to make changes to the sent file settings, such as password and expiration.
    • Forward lets you send the sent files to new recipients.
    • Preview will display the same page that your recipients see when they access the sent files.
    • Stop Sharing will disable access to the sent files completely.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where are the sent files stored?

When you send files, they are stored in a separate location from the rest of your account. If you sent files that were already in your account, copies of those files are used rather than the originals.

This means that:

  • Files that are sent do not count against your used storage space, so you could send 1GB of files 100 different times without losing any space.
  • You can delete a file from your account that has been sent, and the sent files will be unaffected.
  • If you change a file after it has been sent, your recipient will not receive the changes, only the original version.

How can I send files without an expiration date?

At this time, you cannot prevent your send files links from expiring automatically more than 60 days after the files are first sent. If you want a permanent link for your customer to download files, you should use a shared folder.

Is there a limit on how big a file I can send?

You can send a maximum of 10GB of files at any one time. If you need to send more than 10GB of files with a single link, you should use a shared folder.

Did you find an issue with this article? Let us know!

account/05-file-sharing/01-send-files.txt · Last modified 2019/07/11 11:50 (external edit)